I4 Poor range

New to the BMW i4 Forums? Introduce yourself here
Dissapointed dave

Post by Dissapointed dave »

Hi all,
I’ve been driving my i4 M40 for two months but only done 1200 miles so far. Although I absolutely love the car I’m dissapointed in the mileage per kWh, having to try really hard to beat 4.0 kWh per 100 miles which should relate to around 310 miles per ‘tank full’ but is in actual fact around 275 miles ( worked out by adding the actual miles travelled on the ‘trip’ to the range in miles left in the batteries when very low,8%)
My previous vehicle was a Jaguar I pace with which I could actually travel 270 miles ( average driving not motorway miles) which is actually more than Jaguar quotes for the car, and,as such, I would expect to get somewhere between the bragging rights from bmw of 364 miles and the supposed real world mileage of 280. I will admit that my i4 is much better on motorway/ dual carriageway mileage than the I pace was ( only covering 220miles on a long journey.
So, after this long spiel, has anyone had any problems with an i4 range which has been improved by ‘ plugging in and updating’ ? as I don’t like being fobbed off with stupid questions such as ‘have you left your seats turned on?’
Sadly, as I was a Diesel engine lover in the past, I realise that EV’s DONT ‘run themselves in’ and improve with time so any suggestions from a position of knowledge would be appreciated.

OLDPILOT

Post by OLDPILOT »

I've got the i4 m sport with standard suspension and 18" wheels and get 310 miles on a full charge. I do thing the smaller wheels make quite a difference and also, after the initial trial in sport or comfort modes, tend to keep using eco plus mode
Inobby25

Post by Inobby25 »

Hi